Historical Hall of Fame:  James P. Whittenburg (b. ____) is an author and professor of History at the College of William and Mary.
Virginia History Series  
James P. Whittenburg, Jr. is a professor of History at the College of William & Mary in Virginia. He served one term (20052008) as the chairman of the Lyon G. Tyler Department of History, following Dr. James McCord and succeeded by Dr. Philip Daileader.
Whittenburg received his B.A. from the University of Tennessee, his M.A. (1971) in history from Wake Forest University (with a thesis entitled "The Black and White of Reconstruction in East Tennessee"), and his Ph.D. (1974) in history from the University of Georgia, where he wrote his thesis on the "War of the Regulation. "
Dr. Whittenburg began teaching at William & Mary in 1977;previously, he taught at the University of Missouri.  Whittenburg was awarded the University Chair for Teaching Excellence from 1999-2002. Other awards include: the William and Mary Society of the Alumni Teaching Award, the Thomas Ashley Graves Jr. Award for Sustained Excellence in College Teaching, and the Freshman Advisor of the Year award. In 2007, several former students in association with the Virginia Historical society saluted Whittenburg as the "Greatest History Teacher". (Whittenburg also taught actress Kim Basinger.)
home.button.gif vhs2_web_site_10182013002003.gif
Dr. Whittenburg shown conducting a class at a Virginia CW battlefield
Professor Whittenburg has had a great impact on the College of Wm. & Mary and the study of early American history through his creation and leadership of the National Institute for American History and Democracy (NIAHD). 
The National Institute of American History and Democracy (NIAHD) is a partnership between the College of William and Mary and the Colonial Williamsburg Foundation. It is dedicated to the study of the American past, material culture and museums. The Institute sponsors programs for William and Mary students, students from other colleges and  Universities, and high school students (See project participants at right).